Behind Spirited Castles

I mentioned a little about why I named this blog Spirited Castles but I wanted to go a little more into it.

photo-1474291102916-622af5ff18bb.jpgFirst is the word spirited which you might think more along the lines of an energetic young person. Yet, how else would describe that feeling where you disappear into a book? Where the outside fades away and you are inside the pages, inside the world created just for you in ink and paper? How you become so attached and invested in characters who aren’t physical real but real to you all the same because you’ve become attached? Your spirit kind of drops into a story and begins to inhabit it just like the characters. You’ve been spirited away so to speak (and yes, I love the Studio Ghibli film by the same name).

The second part was castles in the sky. You may have heard of Ian van Dahl’s Castles In The Sky. I originally heard the song attached to a Revolutionary Girl Utena (Shojo Kakumei
Utena) anime music video (AMV) that I watched simply because of the beautiful animation (I still have yet to see the anime itself). It’s a fun piece of techno music but the lyrics say, “oh tell me why do we build castles in the sky?” They really struck me at a young age. Why
do we build castles in the sky? Why do we dream or hope for something impossible? For me, I always thought my writing was a dream that must be impossible to achieve, but here I am, writing and posting short fiction pieces as I work on rewriting Blood of the Half-Elf and gearing up to continue full steam ahead on a sky pirate novel whose tentative title is Pretty Up My Sky. So I’m not only building my castle in the sky but I’m starting to live in it. One step at a time.flight-mountains-sky-flying

For me, I always thought my writing was a dream that must be impossible to achieve, but here I am, writing and posting short fiction pieces as I work on rewriting Blood of the Half-Elf and gearing up to continue full steam ahead on a sky pirate novel whose tentative title is Pretty Up My Sky. So I’m not only building my castle in the sky but I’m starting to live in it. One step at a time.

Also, I love the whole imagery of a castle in the sky. It really gets my love of fantasy kicked into high gear.

You can almost see it, a castle in the clouds. Golden light hitting off white stone making it glisten and sparkle like a beacon, beckoning you to come in. Heavy oak doors open for your entrance. A crystal chandelier hanging from the ceiling, marble floors, and cream walls. You could head to the kitchens where the loveliest smells in the world are drifting towards you, or maybe the ballroom where the string quartet plays a cheerful tune. There’s always the library, the astronomy tower, alchemy corridor, or maybe the dusty wing of the castle that doesn’t look like it has been used in forever. So many rooms to explore, so many stories to unfold. Pick a path and get started.

That’s why I named this, Spirited Castles. Follow along, explore my Spirited Castles, and watch for pirates, dragons, and mages, they like to visit from time to time.

Leave a Reply

