Sister, I See You

Sister, sister I see you

With those thick glasses

Braces and clarinet reeds

Short skirts and itty bitty waist

 

Sister, sister I see you

With contact lenses

Leather jacket and textbooks

Living two hours away and weekend visits

 

Sister, sister I see you

Teaching grade threes

Frustration and pride

Touching little lives

 

Sister, sister I see you

White gown and tears in your eyes

Love of your life

Baby pink than baby blue

 

Sister, sister I see you

Wife and mother of two

Stress of career weighing down

Smiling as you juggle

 

Sister, sister I see you

Imagining grey hair and barefoot

Cookies and grandchildren

Chubby cheeks and bright eyes

 

Sister, sister I see you

You’ve left a legacy

Love and family

Can you see it too?

~ Written: November 19, 2014, J.D. Millington

Copyright ©2016 J.D.Millington. All rights reserved. No material on this website may be copied or used in any way without the express prior written consent of the copyright holder.
Leave a Reply

